Sharing Hope in Rockville

Dear Family & Friends,

It is nice to be able to sit down and have opportunity to update you on the ministry in the Rockville women’s prison. It’s been a very busy time filled with encouragements and difficulties along the way, but thankful God is leading every step.

I would like to thank you for the prayers and notes of encouragements. I shared some difficult cases I’m working through last time and it means a lot that you are praying. I’m blessed to have prayer warriors and many thinking of the ministry in Rockville. I wish I had time to sit down and reply to each of you personally (I will do so when I’m able), but be assured your notes touch and encourage me to press on.

I’m excited to share with you Divine Hope is hosting a conference in Rockville next weekend, July 27-29th. We will focusing on the theme, “Finding Hope in the Midst of Loss & Grief.” Paula Brummel, Glenda Mathes, Pastor Anema, and myself will be speaking. There are over 100 women registered to attend and many tell me they are excited for it. On the applications to attend the conference the ladies had to share why they would like to attend. I have been reading through the applications and the stories of loss, grief and pain are heartbreaking. Please pray God will use this opportunity to share the gospel of hope to these ladies and lives will be touched and transformed. I will be opening the conference on Friday evening speaking on “Walking Alongside Others in the Midst of Loss.” Saturday morning Paula Brummel will be speaking, Glenda Mathes will speak in the afternoon, and the three of us will do a panel dicussion. Sunday morning Pastor Anema will close the conference with a worship service. I would appreciate prayers as I prepare and give my speech Friday evening. I have a lot of insights now into the kinds of losses the women endure which gives me the opportunity to speak more personally and really engage the ladies, but I’m also a tad nervous. I will have opportunity to share music and sing with Paula Brummel which I’m looking forward to. Prayers for strength and the ability to wisely communicate the gospel and give hope is appreciated.

I recently spent a week in Illinois with my family to help care for my Grandparents. I shared with some of the ladies the concerns and that I needed to support my family. When I returned I was very touched by how many of them asked about my Grandparents, family and how I was doing. They assured me of their prayers. They really do care, and even though they miss me while I’m away, they understand the importance of family. This is a real encouragment. God has confirmed that caring for my family and serving in the prison ministry is right where He wants me to be.

I have been exposed to the reality of how many women struggle with homosexuality in the prison. It is very discouraging at times, but also important that I see the needs. It is difficult to address, but the Lord is giving opportunities to engage with the ladies to discuss. Please pray God would give wisdom and love to know how to walk alongside the ladies in this concern. I work closely alongside Chaplain Jeff Deakins, and we are discussing how to meet the needs and present the gospel to the women. It is discouraging for him to see these problems arising, and we need prayers to serve alongside one another well and to have wisdom to face these matters.

I need to make wise decisions in how I minister in the prison and what I take on. Chaplain Deakins asked if I would be interested in helping with his service for ladies in the Intake dorm and leading a Bible study for them. This interests me since these are women who are new to the prison and not enrolled yet, but we need to discuss what changes need to be made before the next semester starts.

I’m fully engaged in the one-on-one counseling and my class “How People Change” is producing encouraging fruit. We are approaching the final weeks of classes for this semester. This morning I asked the ladies to share their testimony in class on how God is using this class to change them. I shared my testimony I wrote for Life Renewal in class today and the ladies really appreciated it. Chaplain Deakins decided to sit in on my class today and afterward expressed my testimony meant a lot. I had a few ladies approach me after class sharing they would like to give their testimony next week. I’m very encouraged and excited to start hearing their testimonies!

The Adorned study by Nancy Leigh DeMoss is well under way, and it is very encouraging to sit down weekly with the six ladies. It is insightful to hear their stories and how they desire to be godly women and share in fellowship that is honouring to God. We discuss what mentorship looks like and how women are to walk alongside one another from Titus 2. I meet with these ladies on Fridays and look forward to it each week.

Tomorrow evening I will be closing the week by leading the Divine Hope Bible study. We are starting the first lesson in our study books on Philippians. I’m excited for the study and we’ve had more ladies sign up to be in the Divine Hope study.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Prayer Requests:

-For the Women’s conference taking place at the end of July.
-For a relative who suffered a stroke.
-For a mother who has bone cancer and other physical issues, praises God that she is also a believer.
-For a brother in need of counseling
-For the salvation of her children and husband.
-For an inmate seeking clemency.
-For opportunity to communicate with a daughter after many years.
-For God’s grace to be godly spouses.
-For those suffering from disease, depression, and addictions.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I’m looking forward to this week coming to a close and receiving rest over the weekend. Next week will be busy and long one since the conference is over the weekend. Please pray God would give me the grace, strength and energy to minister well during this time. In August I hope to take some time to receive some rest and refocus before the next semester of classes and services begin. I’ll be back home for a visit in September.
Thank you for your prayers and support financially – both are so important and keeps this ministry alive!
Blessings,
Rebekah
Extra(1of1)

2 thoughts on “Sharing Hope in Rockville

  1. There is a lot of need and we pray that the Lord continues to use you to bring changes in these women’s lives. May the Spirit work mightily as you speak with them and do the studies. We pray for you Becky, for strength and wisdom each day and especially for the weekend to come. Thank you for the update.

    Jake and Ada

Leave a comment